How Much Does A Day Trip To Rottnest Cost?
The real cost ladder for a Rottnest Island day trip, from a A$90 ferry ticket to A$499 add-ons, with what each fare already includes and the extras people forget to budget for.
How Much Does A Day Trip To Rottnest Cost?
A Rottnest day trip costs from A$90 per person for a bare Fremantle ferry and admission ticket, about A$124 to A$175 for a ferry and bike package, A$147 to A$199 for a guided bus day, and more once you add island activities. Every ferry fare from the three operators already collects the A$21.50 adult island admission fee, so the headline price is closer to the real price than most visitors expect. If cycling or a fixed guided tour does not appeal, our guide to Rottnest hop-on hop-off bus ticket prices explains what a day pass covers and how it stacks up against the package deals.
That single fact, that the admission fee is folded into the ferry fare at booking, is the key to reading every price on the ladder. The Rottnest Island Authority sets the fee, currently A$21.50 for a single-day adult, A$11 for a child aged 4 to 16 and A$57 for a family of two adults and two children, and the ferry operators collect it on the Authority's behalf, as the official ferry page explains. So when a SeaLink return ferry from Fremantle is listed from A$90, that number already contains the admission charge, and the gap between a ferry-only ticket and a ferry-plus-bike package is smaller than it first looks.
The ladder itself is broad. At the bottom sits the plain crossing: the SeaLink ferry and admission ticket from Fremantle, from A$90, rated 4.7 from 580 reviews. One rung up are the bike packages, A$123 to A$175 depending on the departure port and operator. Guided bus days sit between A$147 and A$199. Above that, island-only add-ons such as the Oliver Hill train and tunnel tour at A$40 or a Segway session at A$98 stack onto whatever ferry you chose, and at the top of the ladder the tandem skydive reaches A$499 before you have even bought lunch.

Here is the ladder in one view, using the from-prices listed for each tour.
| Tier | Product | From price (per person) | Rating and reviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ferry and admission only | SeaLink ferry and entry ticket, Fremantle | A$90 | 4.7 from 580 reviews |
| Ferry and admission only | Hillarys return ferry transfer | A$95 | 4.8 from 457 reviews |
| Ferry and admission only | SeaLink ferry and admission, Perth | A$135 | 4.7 from 345 reviews |
| Ferry and bike package | Rottnest Express ferry and bike, Perth or Fremantle | A$123 | 4.2 from 482 reviews |
| Ferry and bike package | Rottnest Fast Ferries bike day, Hillarys | A$124 | 4.7 from 2,941 reviews |
| Ferry and bike package | Rottnest Express bike day, Fremantle | A$127 | 4.7 from 948 reviews |
| Ferry and bike package | SeaLink ferry and bike hire, Fremantle | A$127 | 4.8 from 503 reviews |
| Ferry and bike package | Rottnest Express 9-hour trip from Perth | A$175 | 4.5 from 693 reviews |
| Ferry and bus tour | Rottnest Express Discover Rottnest bus tour | A$147 | 4.5 from 792 reviews |
| Ferry and bus tour | SeaLink ferry and bus tour | A$149 | 4.6 from 1,515 reviews |
| Ferry, bus and lunch | Rottnest Fast Ferries Grand Island day with lunch | A$199 | 4.4 from 671 reviews |
Three products cover most of the realistic middle of that ladder, and they are the ones worth comparing first.
What Is Actually Included In The Ferry Fare?
Every ferry product sold from Fremantle, Perth or Hillarys includes the crossing, the island admission fee, and nothing else unless the listing says so. Bike packages add the bike. Bus tour packages add the guided loop. Meals are included on only one ferry-inclusive product on the roster, the Grand Island day with lunch at A$199. Reading the inclusion flags before booking is what separates a A$90 day from an unwelcome surprise at the counter.
The admission fee deserves a moment because it is the item people most often double-count or double-pay. The fee is not optional and not separately bookable: it is collected by ferry operators on behalf of the Rottnest Island Authority at the time you buy the ticket. The Authority's fees page lists the current schedule, valid for the 2026-27 financial year: A$21.50 single-day adult, A$11 child, A$57 family, with under-4s free. If you arrive by private boat you pay it online before arrival instead, but day-trippers on scheduled ferries never handle it separately.
What varies between fares is everything around that fee. The crossing itself differs by port: about 25 minutes from Fremantle, 45 minutes from Hillarys, and up to 90 minutes from Barrack Street Jetty in Perth, which is part of why Perth departures carry a premium. The Fremantle SeaLink ferry and entry ticket at A$90 is the cheapest full day on the roster, and the listing notes it often sells out, which is the trade-off at that price point. The hillarys-ferry-and-bike-day package from Rottnest Fast Ferries, from A$124, bundles the round trip from Hillarys Boat Harbour, a bike for the day and the admission fee, with hotel pickup offered and free cancellation. It is the roster's most-reviewed product at 4.7 from 2,941 reviews, which matters when you are choosing where a few dollars difference should tip your decision. If those price gaps have you wondering what actually drives them, the breakdown of why the Rottnest Island ferry costs so much explains the admission fee tucked into every ticket, the length of the crossing and how fares shift with demand.

This inclusion table shows what sits inside each fare type at a glance, using the roster's own flags.
| Product | Ferry | Bike | Admission fee | Meal | Free cancellation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SeaLink ferry and entry ticket, Fremantle (A$90) | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes |
| Hillarys return ferry transfer (A$95) | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes |
| Rottnest Fast Ferries bike day, Hillarys (A$124) | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes |
| Rottnest Express bike day, Fremantle (A$127) | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes |
| Rottnest Express bike trip from Perth (A$175) | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes |
| SeaLink ferry and bus tour (A$149) | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes |
| Grand Island day with lunch (A$199) | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Two roster flags read "not stated" rather than a plain no: the Rottnest Express ferry and bike hire product at A$123 does not state whether admission is included, and its cancellation policy is not stated either. Check the listing before assuming either way on that one, since it is the cheapest bike package and the gap could be the admission fee on top.
Is a package better value than assembling the pieces yourself? For most people, yes. A same-day return ferry from Hillarys is A$95 with admission inside it, and a day's adult multi-geared bike from the island's main hire outfit runs A$35 with a A$50 deposit, so the pieces together cost more than the A$124 bundled price, and the bundle guarantees a bike is held for you. In peak season the official cycling page warns that hire bikes can be fully booked, so the bundle also buys certainty. For a fuller breakdown of every operator's fare structure, the Rottnest ferry fares and tickets guide works through the same numbers port by port.
What Extras Do People Forget To Budget For?
The four costs outside the fare are food, island activities, hire gear beyond a bike, and mainland parking. Lunch and snacks are an island-price line item unless a meal is bundled, island add-ons run from A$40 for the Oliver Hill train to A$239 for a guided snorkel boat trip, and parking at Fremantle is paid while Hillarys offers free short and overnight parking. None of these appear in any ferry price.
Food is the biggest silent line item. Only two products on the entire roster include a meal: the Grand Island day with lunch at A$199 from Hillarys, and the island-only grand bus and train tour with lunch at A$119, which starts at the Settlement and excludes the ferry. Everyone else eats at island prices, so plan on café and bakery money or carry food across, remembering that carry-on items on the ferries must fit in your seat space.
Island activities are the other stack. These are the products that begin on Rottnest itself, so they layer onto any ferry ticket:
| Island add-on | From price | Duration | Rating and reviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oliver Hill train and tunnel tour | A$40 | 2 hours | 4.6 from 35 reviews |
| 1-hour Settlement Segway tour | A$98 | 1 hour | 4.7 from 63 reviews |
| Fortress Adventure Segway tour | A$139 | 1.5 hours | 4.8 from 117 reviews |
| Private rickshaw quokka tour | A$145 | 1.5 hours | 5 from 15 reviews |
| Grand bus and train tour with lunch (island only) | A$119 | 4 hours | 4.6 from 121 reviews |
| Snorkel and sail catamaran | A$185 | 3 hours | 4.8 from 33 reviews |
| Guided snorkel boat trip | A$239 | 3 hours | 4.5 from 51 reviews |
| Luxe seafood cruise | A$395 | 4 hours | 4.9 from 56 reviews |
The Oliver Hill train and tunnel tour is the cheapest structured half-day on the island and pairs naturally with a bike package, since the train departs from the island's own station at Brand Way. Note what the listing excludes: no ferry and no admission fee, both of which your ferry ticket has already handled. If a full pricing breakdown of the island-only products is useful, the Rottnest bus and train tours guide compares them side by side.
The Segway option costs more but compresses a lot of ground: the one-hour Settlement tour at A$98 covers the Thomson Bay area, while the 1.5-hour Fortress Adventure version at A$139 heads out toward the island's military heritage sites at the coast, capped at 10 riders per group. Quokkas are wild and no tour promises an encounter, so treat any wildlife mention in an activity listing as possibility rather than itinerary, and follow the island rules: observe from a safe distance, never touch or feed, and stay on the paths, with deliberate interference liable to an on-the-spot fine and prosecution carrying fines up to A$10,000.
Parking is the extra that penalises Fremantle departures. The official getting-there guidance notes paid parking at Victoria Quay, secure paid parking at Rous Head, and free short and overnight parking at Hillarys Boat Harbour. A family leaving a car at Fremantle for a full day should price that in, while Hillarys and Perth departures dodge it entirely, the Perth options via train or the hotel pickup that Rottnest Fast Ferries and Rottnest Express both advertise on their departure pages. SeaLink also lists complimentary hotel transfers from selected Perth CBD locations for its Barrack Street departure, bookable in advance, which quietly removes both a parking cost and a taxi fare from the Perth side of the ledger.
Is The Bike Package Or The Bus Tour Better Value?
For A$124 to A$127 from Hillarys or Fremantle, a ferry and bike package buys a full self-directed day and is the value pick for confident riders. For A$147 to A$149, a ferry and bus tour buys a guided loop with commentary and no physical effort, covering Wadjemup Lighthouse and the West End. The difference between the two tiers is really a choice between independence and interpretation.
The bike day suits visitors who want beaches on their own schedule. Rottnest is vehicle-restricted with more than 22 km of cycle paths, and the official routes scale to any fitness level: the Rotto Mini Loop of about 4 km in roughly 30 minutes, the 10 km Beaches, Lighthouses and Lakes trail at 1.5 to 3 hours, or the full 22 km island loop at 3 to 5 hours with some challenging hills. Helmets are required by law for every rider. The Rottnest Express bike day from Fremantle at A$127, 4.7 from 948 reviews, and the SeaLink equivalent, also A$127 but rated 4.8 from 503 reviews, both warn they often sell out, which tells you where demand sits.
The bus day suits visitors who would rather listen than pedal. The SeaLink ferry and bus tour at A$149, rated 4.6 from 1,515 reviews, includes the ferry from Perth or Fremantle, the admission fee and the guided circuit, and also carries an often-sells-out flag. Rottnest Express runs its own Discover Rottnest version at A$147. Both beat the bike package on coverage per hour for anyone short on legs, and the buses used for the Discover Rottnest and hop-on services are wheelchair accessible if you call ahead.
There is a third answer for anyone who wants neither planning nor pedalling: the Grand Island day tour with lunch from Hillarys at A$199, 4.4 from 671 reviews, which adds a meal to the guided formula and includes pickup. It is the most expensive standard day on the roster short of the adventure tier, and the only ferry-inclusive product where lunch is not an extra.
What Does A Budget, Mid-Range And Full Day Actually Total?
A strict budget day totals A$90 for the SeaLink ferry and admission ticket from Fremantle, with brought food and free volunteer-guided walking tours filling the itinerary. A mid-range day runs A$124 to A$127 for a bike package plus lunch, while a comfort day reaches A$199 on the Grand Island lunch tour, or A$149 for a bus tour stacked with the A$40 train.
Building the three versions explicitly, using roster prices and the child admission figures:
| Budget style | Core spend | What it buys |
|---|---|---|
| Budget | A$90 | SeaLink ferry and entry from Fremantle, free volunteer-guided walking tours, brought or bakery lunch |
| Mid-range | A$124 to A$127 | Rottnest Fast Ferries bike day or its Fremantle equivalents, plus island lunch and a drink |
| Comfort | A$189 to A$199 | SeaLink ferry and bus tour (A$149) plus Oliver Hill train (A$40), or the Grand Island day with lunch (A$199) |
| Premium | A$319 to A$499 | Bike day (A$124) plus the luxe seafood cruise (A$395), or the tandem skydive (A$499) |
The budget line deserves its own note because Rottnest is cheaper than its reputation on that tier. The Rottnest Volunteer Guides run free guided walking tours daily from the historic Salt Store, with sessions such as the quokka walk and the reef-and-wreck walk, and times vary with weather and volunteer availability rather than a fixed guarantee. Add free beaches and the free walking paths, and a A$90 ferry ticket genuinely buys a complete day. The Rottnest Express fares page is the reference for live fares on that operator's crossings, since dynamic pricing means the from-price moves with demand and date.
Families should run the arithmetic differently. A family admission bundle is A$57 for two adults and two children, and family ferry passes exist on the operators' own fare pages, so the per-person ladder above softens considerably with children in the group. The skydive and plane transfer sit at the opposite end: the tandem skydive at A$499, 4.9 from 265 reviews, and the 15-minute Kookaburra Air transfer from Jandakot at A$350, from A$350 per person with a maximum of 10 passengers, are travel decisions more than tour decisions.
Timing changes the price too, though never in a way a timetable can promise. Fares are dynamic, timetables vary by season and weather, and the official advice is to book ahead in peak summer when sailings sell out. For a deeper comparison of the cheapest routes across all three operators, the cheapest way to get to Rottnest article works through the ferry-only options, and Rottnest Island Tours lists the full roster with live pricing for every product mentioned here.
Common Questions About A Rottnest Day Trip Cost
How Much Does A Day Trip To Rottnest Cost?
From A$90 per person for a ferry and admission ticket from Fremantle, A$123 to A$175 for a ferry and bike package, A$147 to A$199 for a guided bus day, and more once you add island activities. Every ferry fare already includes the A$21.50 adult island admission fee.
Is the island admission fee extra on top of the ferry ticket?
No. Ferry operators collect the Rottnest Island Authority admission fee, A$21.50 for a single-day adult, inside the fare at booking. You only pay it separately if you arrive by private boat, in which case it is paid online before arrival.
What is the cheapest way to do a Rottnest day trip?
The SeaLink ferry and admission ticket from Fremantle at A$90, paired with the free volunteer-guided walking tours and brought food. The listing notes it often sells out, so book ahead in peak periods.
How much extra is food on the island?
Lunch and snacks are an island-price line item unless your product includes a meal. Only the Grand Island day with lunch at A$199 and the island-only grand bus and train tour at A$119 bundle food.
Do I need to pay for parking on top?
At Fremantle, yes: parking at Victoria Quay is paid, and Rous Head offers secure paid parking. Hillarys Boat Harbour offers free short and overnight parking, and Perth departures from Barrack Street Jetty can be reached by public transport.
Are island tours like the train or Segway included in ferry packages?
No. Island-only add-ons are separate: the Oliver Hill train and tunnel tour is A$40, the Settlement Segway tour is A$98, and the snorkel and sail catamaran is A$185. Stack whichever fits your budget onto any ferry ticket.