Guided Rottnest Trips From Perth: Bus And Train Tours Compared

Not every Rottnest day needs a bike. This guide compares the guided ferry-and-bus days from Perth and Fremantle against the island-only bus and train tours, with prices, ratings and inclusions listed side by side.

A tour bus parked beside the turquoise water of Thomson Bay at Rottnest Island

Short answer

Guided Rottnest trips from Perth start from A$149 per person for the SeaLink ferry and bus tour, A$147 for the Rottnest Express version, and A$199 for the Grand Island day with lunch from Hillarys. Every ferry-inclusive option collects the A$21.50 island admission inside the fare. Island-only tours start from A$119.

Rottnest Island sits 33 km from Perth, and the fastest way to spend a day there without pedal power is a guided ferry-and-bus package. Three operators sell genuinely different versions of this day: SeaLink Rottnest Island runs a ferry and bus tour rated 4.6 from 1,515 reviews from A$149 per person, Rottnest Express runs its own Discover Rottnest bus product from A$147, and Rottnest Fast Ferries runs the Grand Island day tour with lunch from Hillarys at A$199. Below that sit the island-only tours, including the Grand Bus and Train Tour with Lunch from Australian Pinnacle Tours at A$119, which assumes you have already made the crossing. This guide lays out what each one actually includes, who runs it, and the honest trade-off against the classic bike day. For a completely different angle on the island, the guide to skydiving and scenic flights over Rottnest compares the operators that get you airborne from Perth.

What Does A Guided Rottnest Trip From Perth Include?

A guided Rottnest trip from Perth bundles three things: the return ferry crossing (up to 90 minutes from Barrack Street Jetty), the island admission fee of A$21.50 per adult collected inside the fare, and a bus or train tour with a driver and commentary on the island itself. Lunch is included only on the Grand Island day (A$199) and the island-only Grand Bus and Train tour (A$119). Since lunch is only bundled into a couple of the packages, our guide to Rottnest's restaurants, cafes and bakery covers where to eat when it isn't.

The core product is the SeaLink ferry and bus tour, which departs from either Perth or Fremantle, your choice at booking, and runs 7 hours to a full day. It carries a 4.6 rating from 1,515 reviews, the deepest pool of any guided product on the roster, from A$149 per person. Rottnest Express sells a near-identical structure through its Discover Rottnest bus tour, 8 hours from A$147, rated 4.5 from 792 reviews, departing Perth or Fremantle with no pickup offered. The two products cover similar ground because the underlying island bus network is the same: the Quokka Coaches Island Explorer loop with 19 stops, plus the operator-run Discover Rottnest circuit that reaches Wadjemup Lighthouse and the West End.

A hop-on hop-off island bus at a stop near the Thomson Bay settlement

What the listings do not include matters just as much. Neither ferry-and-bus product includes a bike, and neither includes a meal. The island admission fee is confirmed included on both the SeaLink and Rottnest Express tours. Free cancellation is confirmed on the SeaLink tour and not stated on the Rottnest Express one. These small flags are the difference between two products that otherwise look interchangeable on a search page.

Which Guided Tours Run From Perth, And What Do They Cost?

Five guided products serve Perth travellers: the SeaLink ferry and bus tour (4.6, 1,515 reviews, from A$149), the Rottnest Express ferry and bus tour (4.5, 792 reviews, from A$147), the Grand Island day with lunch from Hillarys (4.4, 671 reviews, A$199), the island-only Grand Bus and Train tour (4.6, 121 reviews, A$119) and the Oliver Hill train and tunnel tour (4.6, 35 reviews, A$40).

Prices and inclusions below come straight from each operator listing. The ferry-inclusive rows are the ones that work as a single booking from Perth; the island-only rows assume you have a separate crossing.

Tour Operator Departs Price Rating Duration
Ferry and bus tour SeaLink Rottnest Island Perth or Fremantle from A$149 4.6 from 1,515 reviews 7 hours to full day
Ferry and bus tour Rottnest Express Perth or Fremantle from A$147 4.5 from 792 reviews 8 hours
Grand Island day with lunch Rottnest Fast Ferries Hillarys Boat Harbour from A$199 4.4 from 671 reviews Full day
Grand Bus and Train with lunch Australian Pinnacle Tours Island railway station from A$119 4.6 from 121 reviews 4 hours
Oliver Hill train and tunnel Australian Pinnacle Tours Island train station from A$40 4.6 from 35 reviews 2 hours

Only the first three include a ferry, which is why they dominate the Perth search results. The SeaLink product is the one most Perth visitors end up comparing against a bike package, because it can start at Barrack Street Jetty and fold the whole day into one booking. It often sells out, the listing warns. The Rottnest Express version is A$2 cheaper and an hour longer, with a slightly lower rating on a smaller pool. If you would rather read a deeper comparison of the two ferry companies themselves, the SeaLink versus Rottnest Express ferry guide breaks down the crossings, terminals and fare structures.

SeaLink Ferry And Bus Tour: The Default Perth Option

The SeaLink ferry and bus tour costs from A$149 per person, runs 7 hours to a full day from either Perth Barrack Street Jetty or Fremantle B Shed, and rates 4.6 from 1,515 reviews. It includes the return ferry, the bus tour and the island admission fee, with free cancellation, but no bike and no meal.

This is the product to book when you want one transaction and a driver handling the route. You choose your departure port at booking: Perth, where SeaLink's ticketing desk sits at Pier 3 on Barrack Street Jetty, or Fremantle B Shed. Pickup is not offered on this one, so getting to the jetty is on you. The crossing from Perth runs up to 90 minutes; from Fremantle it is about 25 minutes. Once ashore, the bus component handles the island's distances, which are real: 11 km end to end, with the lighthouse and the West End furthest from the settlement.

The listing carries the "often sells out" flag, which is consistent with what the official island pages say about peak summer booking pressure. Free cancellation is confirmed, which takes some of the risk out of booking ahead for a weather-dependent day. Timetables vary by season and weather, so the exact sailing you get depends on your date rather than a fixed published time. Check availability on the operator's live listing, and read more in the site's guide to Rottnest bus and train tours.

Grand Island Day Tour With Lunch From Hillarys

The Grand Island day tour from Hillarys costs from A$199 per person, runs a full day with Rottnest Fast Ferries, and rates 4.4 from 671 reviews. It is the only ferry-inclusive guided product on the roster that includes a meal, and it offers complimentary hotel pickup, which the Perth and Fremantle bus tours do not.

Rottnest Fast Ferries departs from Hillarys Boat Harbour, about 45 minutes across, and this package layers lunch on top of the ferry, admission and island touring. The pickup offering is the quiet differentiator. Pickup is not confirmed on the SeaLink ferry and bus tour from Perth, so check the live booking page before you book, while the Rottnest Express bus tour does not offer pickup. Perth travellers without a car often find Hillarys with a transfer easier than getting to Barrack Street Jetty. The trade is the rating, 4.4 against 4.6, and the price, A$199 against A$149, and what you get for the A$50 gap is lunch, the transfer and the northern departure.

Hillarys itself is worth understanding before you book: parking at the harbour is free for short and overnight stays, which the Fremantle terminals cannot match. The site's guide to the Rottnest ferry from Hillarys covers the terminal, the crossing and the parking in detail.

The Island-Only Options: Grand Bus, Train And Oliver Hill

Two guided tours start on the island, not the mainland: the Grand Bus and Train Tour with Lunch (A$119, 4.6 from 121 reviews, 4 hours) and the Oliver Hill train and tunnel tour (A$40, 4.6 from 35 reviews, 2 hours). Neither includes a ferry, and the Grand Bus and Train tour does not include the island admission fee, so budget the A$21.50 separately or buy it inside your ferry fare.

The Grand Bus and Train Tour with Lunch, run by Australian Pinnacle Tours from the island's railway station in the Settlement, is aimed at people already crossing on their own ticket, including overnight visitors. It carries the "often sells out" flag and a 4-hour duration that leaves room for a beach afternoon. The Oliver Hill train and tunnel tour, also Australian Pinnacle, is the shortest guided product on the roster: 2 hours from the island train station on Brand Way, from A$40. The Oliver Hill site involves a genuine walk; operator material describes roughly 700 m of walking and more than 240 uneven steps with no backtracking, so treat the low price as fair rather than easy.

These pair naturally with any ferry ticket. The cheapest crossing on the roster is the SeaLink ferry and admission product from Fremantle at from A$90, which already contains the A$21.50 admission, and adding the A$40 Oliver Hill tour underneath it builds a fully guided day that undercuts the bus packages by a clear margin. The site's Oliver Hill and lighthouse guide covers the history and the physical demands in more depth.

What Is Included: A Straight Comparison

Across the guided products, the pattern is consistent: ferry-inclusive tours bundle the A$21.50 adult admission, island-only tours do not, lunch appears only on the two Grand tours, and no guided product includes a bike. Free cancellation is confirmed on the SeaLink tour, the Grand Island day, the Grand Bus and Train tour and the Oliver Hill tour, and not stated on the Rottnest Express bus tour.

Tour Ferry Bike Admission Meal Free cancellation
SeaLink ferry and bus Yes No Yes No Yes
Rottnest Express ferry and bus Yes No Yes Not stated Not stated
Grand Island day with lunch Yes No Yes Yes Yes
Grand Bus and Train with lunch No No No Yes Yes
Oliver Hill train and tunnel No No Not stated No Yes

"Not stated" here means exactly that: the listing does not say, so check the listing rather than assuming either way. The admission column deserves attention because the fee is unavoidable. Everyone pays it, whether arriving by ferry, plane or private boat, and ferry and commercial-vessel visitors pay it as part of the fare at booking, per the Rottnest Island Authority's fees and charges page. A child aged 4 to 16 pays A$11, a family group of two adults and two children pays A$57, and under-4s are free.

Guided Bus Tour Or Bike Day: The Honest Trade-Off

A bike day covers more ground per dollar, from A$124 for the Rottnest Fast Ferries bike and ferry package from Hillarys, but demands fitness across 22 km of cycle paths with real hills; a bus tour costs A$25 more and trades freedom and pace for commentary, shade and the ability to reach the West End and the lighthouse without sweating. Neither choice is wrong, and the deciding factor is usually the age and fitness spread of your group.

The bike lobby has numbers on its side. The Hillarys bike and ferry day, 4.7 from 2,941 reviews, is the deepest-reviewed product on the entire roster, and the Fremantle and SeaLink equivalents cluster at the same rating from A$127. The island's 22 km of cycle paths split into three official routes: the 4 km Rotto Mini Loop at about 30 minutes, the 10 km Beaches, Lighthouses and Lakes trail at 1.5 to 3 hours, and the full 22 km loop at 3 to 5 hours, which the official cycling page describes as suited to experienced riders with some challenging hills.

The bus lobby has comfort and coverage on its side. The West End, Cathedral Rocks and the Wadjemup Lighthouse precinct are the island's signature stops, and the hop-on hop-off Island Explorer reaches 19 of them without your legs having an opinion. The official getting around by bus page confirms both the Quokka Coaches network and the wheelchair accessibility of the tour buses, with a call-ahead recommendation. For families with small children, older travellers, or anyone visiting in the January heat, the bus is not the lazy option, it is the sensible one.

Cyclists resting beside a sandy path above a sheltered bay on Rottnest Island

There is also a hybrid worth naming: book a ferry-and-bike package and add the 2-hour Oliver Hill train tour as a midday anchor, or do the reverse, a bus morning and a swim afternoon at The Basin. The site's ferry and bike packages guide prices out the cycling side in full.

Departure Points, Crossing Times And Getting To The Terminal

Guided ferry-inclusive tours leave from three ports: Barrack Street Jetty in Perth (up to 90 minutes across), Fremantle B Shed (about 25 minutes) and Hillarys Boat Harbour (about 45 minutes). All ferries arrive at the Main Jetty in Thomson Bay, so your island touring starts in the Settlement regardless of where you boarded.

Departure point Operator Crossing Pickup offered Parking
Barrack Street Jetty, Perth SeaLink, Rottnest Express up to 90 min Not on bus tours City parking, paid
B Shed, Fremantle SeaLink, Rottnest Express about 25 min No Paid, secure at Victoria Quay
Hillarys Boat Harbour Rottnest Fast Ferries about 45 min Yes, hotel pickup Free short and overnight

The Perth departure is the most scenic and the longest: the ferry runs down the Swan River before hitting the open ocean, which makes the 90-minute crossing part of the day rather than dead time. The trade is price and fatigue, and SeaLink's own fares page lists the Perth same-day return from A$134.50 including admission against A$90 from Fremantle, which is why the official fares page rewards a look before you commit to a port. Arrive at least 30 minutes before departure, whichever terminal you use, and remember timetables vary by season and weather, so the tour listing, not a printed schedule, governs your sailing.

Booking, Cancellation And Sell-Out Risk

Book guided Rottnest tours ahead for any summer date, school holiday or weekend: the SeaLink ferry and bus tour and the Grand Bus and Train tour both carry explicit "often sells out" flags on their listings, and free cancellation is confirmed on every product except the Rottnest Express bus tour, where it is not stated. Peak bikes and buses both fill, so the safe pattern is to book early and rely on the cancellation window if plans shift.

The honest summary of risk: the deepest-reviewed guided products are also the ones flagged as frequently full, and the island's official guidance recommends advance booking through the peak summer period. Dynamic pricing applies on the ferry side, meaning the "from" prices in this guide are floors, not guarantees. If your date is fixed and your group is large, book as early as the listing allows. If your dates are soft, the confirmed free cancellation on the SeaLink bus tour and the Grand Island day makes early booking nearly costless.

Island admission rose for the 2026-27 year, so any price you remember from an older trip is probably stale: the single-day adult fee is A$21.50, valid 1 July 2026 to 30 June 2027, with extended-stay admission at A$28.50 for anyone overnighting, and the extended-stay family rate at A$75. Overnight visitors planning a second day of touring should also skim the site's where to stay on Rottnest guide before committing to a single-day bus product.

Passengers boarding a ferry at a Perth jetty in morning light

Planning Your Day Around The Bus And Train Network

Most guided days follow the same arc: arrive at the Main Jetty in Thomson Bay, tour west toward the lighthouse and the West End, return through the settlement for lunch or a swim, and catch the return sailing you were assigned at booking. The bus network's 19 stops and the 1.75-hour Bayseeker circuit give structure to any free hours between guided segments.

The practical detail most first-timers miss is that the guided products differ in how much free time they leave. The 4-hour Grand Bus and Train tour assumes you fill the rest of the day yourself; the full-day ferry packages run the bus component as the spine of the day. Neither product prints a fixed itinerary clock in its listing, and the official position is that timetables vary by season and weather, so plan in blocks (crossing, tour, free time, return) rather than in exact hours.

A white lighthouse above low coastal scrub on Rottnest Island

Two anchors are worth knowing. The Wadjemup Lighthouse, built 1896 at the island's highest point of 45 m, is open on guided tours daily and costs A$15 adult, so a bus tour that stops there can be upgraded on the spot. And the settlement around Thomson Bay is where the free Rottnest Volunteer Guides walks depart, daily from the Salt Store, which stacks a no-cost guided layer under any paid bus tour if your timing is flexible.

Who Should Skip The Bus And Book Something Else

Book a guided bus tour if you want commentary, shade and the West End without effort; skip it if you are a confident cyclist, if your priority is swimming time at a single bay, or if you want the water itself, where the catamaran snorkel and sail (4.8 from 33 reviews, A$185) and the wildlife adventure cruise (4.5 from 244 reviews, A$164) deliver what no bus can.

The water-based alternatives deserve their moment because they solve a different problem. The half-day catamaran snorkel and sail from Charter 1 leaves the Fuel Jetty at Thomson Bay with full gear, 3 hours on the water, from A$185. Rottnest Express runs the wildlife adventure cruise bundled with the ferry from A$164 over 8 hours. Both are island-departure or ferry-bundled products that no bus tour replicates. The site's boat cruises and eco tours guide prices the full set.

A catamaran under sail off a rocky headland at Rottnest Island

At the far end of the intensity scale, the tandem skydive from Rottnest Island Airport, 4.9 from 265 reviews at A$499 for 2.5 hours, is the roster's ceiling, and the Segway tours (4.7 and 4.8 from small pools, A$98 and A$139) split the difference between bike and bus. The full decision tree, including the Rottnest Fast Ferries bike day from Hillarys and the Rottnest Express bike day from Fremantle, sits in the site's Rottnest day trips from Perth guide.

What Guided Rottnest Tours Cost, Side By Side

A guided Rottnest day costs between A$147 and A$199 per person with the ferry included, or A$40 to A$119 island-only, against A$123 to A$175 for the bike-and-ferry alternatives. The A$21.50 adult admission is inside every ferry-inclusive price and outside every island-only one, which is the figure most comparisons forget to add back.

Bar chart comparing per-person prices of guided Rottnest tours from A$40 to A$499 against bike and ferry packages
Guided tours occupy the A$40 to A$199 band of the roster, with ferry-inclusive bus days clustering near A$150 and the island-only train tours at the low end.

Reading the chart honestly: the cheapest guided product is not a ferry product at all, it is the A$40 Oliver Hill tour, but it presumes a crossing you have already paid for. The most expensive standard guided day, the A$199 Grand Island, buys lunch and pickup. The genuine like-for-like comparison is A$147 to A$149 for a bus day against A$124 to A$127 for a bike day from the same terminals, a gap of roughly A$25 for the difference between pedals and commentary.

For readers comparing this against the site's featured option, this whole page is published by Rottnest Island Tours as part of a set covering every product category on the island, from ferries to skydives.

Common Questions About Guided Rottnest Trips From Perth

What is the cheapest guided Rottnest tour from Perth?

The cheapest ferry-inclusive guided tour is the Rottnest Express ferry and bus tour at from A$147, a hair under the SeaLink version at from A$149. The cheapest guided product overall is the island-only Oliver Hill train and tunnel tour at A$40, but it excludes the ferry and possibly the admission fee, so check the listing.

Do Rottnest bus tours include the ferry and the island admission fee?

The SeaLink ferry and bus tour and the Grand Island day with lunch include both the ferry and the A$21.50 adult admission. The Rottnest Express bus tour includes the ferry, with admission not stated on the listing. Island-only tours, the Grand Bus and Train with lunch and the Oliver Hill tour, include no ferry, and the Grand Bus and Train does not include admission.

Is a guided bus tour better than biking Rottnest?

Bus tours suit families, older travellers and hot days: commentary, shade and access to the West End and lighthouse without hills. Biking covers more ground per dollar, from A$124 versus about A$149, and suits confident riders over the island's 22 km of cycle paths. Neither is objectively better; the choice follows your group's fitness and the weather.

Can I cancel a guided Rottnest tour?

Free cancellation is confirmed on the SeaLink ferry and bus tour, the Grand Island day with lunch, the Grand Bus and Train tour and the Oliver Hill tour. On the Rottnest Express ferry and bus tour it is not stated, so check the listing or treat that booking as committed.

Do guided Rottnest tours sell out?

Yes. The SeaLink ferry and bus tour and the Grand Bus and Train tour both carry explicit "often sells out" flags on their listings, and the island's official guidance recommends advance booking through peak summer. Book early and lean on the confirmed free cancellation where it applies.

Which departure point is best for a guided Rottnest day?

Fremantle B Shed is the fastest crossing at about 25 minutes; Hillarys is about 45 minutes with free parking and hotel pickup on the Grand Island day; Perth Barrack Street Jetty runs up to 90 minutes but makes the river transit part of the experience. All ferries arrive at the Main Jetty in Thomson Bay.