Boat Cruises And Eco Tours On Rottnest Island: Every Option Compared

Four bookable boat products circle Rottnest Island, from an A$164 ferry-included wildlife cruise to an A$395 lobster lunch on the water. Here is what each one actually includes, what it costs and when it runs.

A charter boat moored in clear turquoise water beside a sandy Rottnest bay

Short answer

Rottnest Island has four main bookable cruises: the ferry-and-wildlife adventure cruise from A$164 per person, the half-day snorkel and sail catamaran from A$185, the guided snorkel boat trip from A$239 and the 4-hour luxe seafood cruise from A$395. Whale season runs August to December, and no cruise promises a sighting.

Rottnest Island sits inside a marine reserve with 63 beaches, 20 bays and about 400 fish species, and the best way to understand that coastline is from the water. Four bookable cruise products operate around the island, and they solve very different problems: one bundles your ferry crossing with a high-speed coastal loop, two are dedicated snorkel experiences that depart from Thomson Bay, and one is a long seafood lunch that happens to take place on a boat.

Compare all of them side by side: prices in Australian dollars, ratings with their review counts, and what each ticket includes, and the official rules that shape a day on the water, including whale season and the marine sanctuary zones that decide where you can and cannot fish. The ferry-and-wildlife adventure cruise is the natural starting point because it is the only one that includes your mainland transfer, but the island-departing options reward anyone already booked to cross. Rottnest Island Tours covers the ferry, bike and bus alternatives elsewhere; this page stays on the water.

What Boat Cruises Can You Actually Book On Rottnest Island?

Four cruise products are bookable around Rottnest Island: the ferry-and-wildlife adventure cruise from A$164 per person including ferry and admission, the half-day snorkel and sail catamaran from A$185, the guided snorkel boat experience from A$239 including island admission, and the 4-hour luxe seafood cruise from A$395 with a meal included. Each departs either from the mainland or from Thomson Bay on the island itself.

Only the wildlife cruise includes your ferry crossing, which changes the maths completely if you have not yet booked a way over. The ferry-and-wildlife adventure cruise, run by Rottnest Express from Perth or Fremantle, and the island-departing products start from entirely different baselines, so the first question is always whether your ticket needs to cover the sea crossing or not.

The table below is the whole market in one view. Ratings are shown with their review counts because a 4.8 from 33 reviews and a 4.7 from 2,941 reviews are different kinds of confidence.

Cruise Operator From (per person) Rating Duration Ferry included Meal
Ferry and wildlife adventure cruise Rottnest Express A$164 4.5 from 244 reviews 8 hours Yes Check the listing
Snorkel and sail catamaran Charter 1 A$185 4.8 from 33 reviews 3 hours No Check the listing
Guided snorkel boat trip Rottnest Snorkel A$239 4.5 from 51 reviews 3 hours Check the listing Check the listing
Luxe lobster and seafood cruise Rottnest Cruises A$395 4.9 from 56 reviews 4 hours No Yes
A cruising boat cutting across calm blue water near a rocky Rottnest headland

A few flags matter as much as the prices. The luxe seafood cruise listing states it does not run in winter, so it is a spring-to-autumn product. The wildlife adventure cruise and the guided snorkel boat trip include the island admission fee, which is A$21.50 for an adult single day and is otherwise collected inside every ferry fare. The catamaran's listing does not state whether admission is included, so check the listing before assuming.

How Does The Ferry And Wildlife Adventure Cruise Work?

The Adventure Rottnest tour pairs a return Rottnest Express ferry from Perth or Fremantle with a high-speed wildlife-focused boat ride around the island's coast, from A$164 per person, rated 4.5 from 244 reviews, running about 8 hours in total with the island admission fee included in the ticket and no free-cancellation window listed, so check the refund terms before booking.

This is the product to book if you want one transaction to cover the whole day. You choose Perth or Fremantle at booking, cross to Thomson Bay, and the adventure cruise component takes you back out onto open water along the coast where seals, dolphins and, in season, whales are the draw. It is the only cruise on the roster that solves transport and thrills in a single purchase.

The pricing is honest value when you unpack it. A same-day return ferry from Fremantle including admission starts at A$90 on SeaLink's own fares, so the adventure component of this package costs only modestly more than crossing alone. That buys the fast-boat circuit, which a standard ferry cannot replicate: ferries arrive at the Main Jetty in Thomson Bay and stay there, while the cruise hugs the coastline where the marine life actually is.

Read the whale season rules before you book with wildlife in mind. The official Rottnest Island whale watching page puts the Perth-region season at August to December, with sightings sometimes from June and July, and about 35,000 whales migrating through Western Australian waters. No operator on this roster promises a sighting, and no honest article should either; the cruise sells the circuit and the chance, not a guarantee.

If you are still weighing whether a cruise day beats a bike day, the comparison depends entirely on sea state and confidence on a bike. A separate guide to the best bike route around the island covers the land option in detail, and many visitors split the difference: cruise one visit, cycle the next.

Chart summarising the key figures quoted in this guide.
The numbers in this section, side by side.

Is The Snorkel And Sail Catamaran Worth It?

The half-day snorkel and sail catamaran, run by Charter 1 from the Rottnest Fuel Jetty in Thomson Bay, costs from A$185 per person for a 3-hour trip rated 4.8 from 33 reviews, with the listing not stating whether ferry transport, admission or a meal is included, so it suits visitors already crossing to the island who want a relaxed sailing day with in-water time.

The catamaran is the calmest product on this page. Where the adventure cruise is engines and spray, a sailing catamaran is drift and deck space, and the snorkelling happens from the boat at sheltered bays rather than from a beach entry. At 3 hours it fits neatly alongside a morning ferry crossing and an afternoon return, or as the centrepiece of a longer stay.

The review pool deserves honest framing: 4.8 is an excellent score, but it comes from 33 reviews, not thousands. That is a small sample of very satisfied guests rather than a mass-market verdict, and it should be read that way. The listing does not state whether free cancellation is offered, so check the live listing for the terms before booking, and note the product departs from Thomson Bay, meaning your ferry is a separate purchase.

Where the catamaran snorkels matters more than the boat. Rottnest's five marine sanctuary zones, described on the official marine sanctuary zones page, protect the Parker Point pink coral reef, the shipwrecks of Kingston, the sea lion habitat at Green Island, the seagrass of Armstrong Bay and the West End demersal zone. Snorkelling is welcome; fishing and collecting in those zones is not.

A sailing catamaran anchored over pale sand in clear shallow water at a Rottnest bay

What Does The Guided Snorkel Boat Trip Include?

The guided snorkel boat experience, run by Rottnest Snorkel from the Fuel Jetty on Colebatch Ave in Thomson Bay, costs from A$239 per person for a 3-hour trip rated 4.5 from 51 reviews, with the island admission fee included, free cancellation offered, and guided in-water time at sheltered bays, reefs and shipwrecks, making it the most instruction-focused snorkel product on the roster.

This is the choice for visitors whose priority is the water itself rather than the ride. The product's whole design is in-water time with a guide, which neither the catamaran nor the adventure cruise centres to the same degree. At A$239 it is the most expensive of the three sub-4-hour products, and the premium buys structure: guided groups, gear and a boat that moves between sites rather than staying at one.

The listing does not state whether the ferry is included, and since it departs from Thomson Bay the working assumption is that it is not; treat your crossing as a separate booking and check the listing to confirm. Free cancellation is offered, which matters for a product this weather-dependent.

The official snorkel infrastructure on the island supports what this boat does. The Parker Point Snorkel Trail runs about 800 m with 12 interpretive underwater plaques, allow about an hour, and sits about 17 minutes by bike from Thomson Bay; Little Salmon Bay adds a roughly 700 m loop with 10 markers. A guided boat reaches sites like these without the ride there.

Snorkellers floating above a shallow coral reef in clear water

What Is The Luxe Seafood Cruise Actually Like?

The Luxe Island Seafood Cruise, run by Rottnest Cruises from Thomson Bay Fuel Jetty, costs from A$395 per person for a 4-hour trip rated 4.9 from 56 reviews, with a full meal included, free cancellation offered, no ferry included, and the listing stating plainly that it does not operate in winter, which makes it a seasonal premium product rather than a year-round option.

This is the most expensive cruise on the roster and the only one where food is the headline rather than a footnote. Four hours on the water with a seafood meal places it closer to a long lunch charter than a tour, and the 4.9 rating from 56 reviews, while a modest pool, is the highest score on this page. It suits a milestone day, a slow final afternoon on the island, or visitors who have already done the fast stuff.

Two constraints shape the booking decision. First, the seasonal closure: the listing is explicit that winter is excluded, so confirm your date falls inside the operating window. Second, no ferry: at A$395 plus your crossing, this is a day built around the meal, and the total spend climbs steeply once transport is added for a day visitor.

A covered cruising boat at anchor in a sheltered bay with tables set on deck

Which Cruise Should You Book In Which Season?

Book the wildlife adventure cruise or the catamaran from November to April for the warmest water and calmest conditions, target August to December if whales are the priority since that is the official season with sightings sometimes from June and July, and avoid the luxe seafood cruise entirely in winter because its listing excludes it; the guided snorkel boat suits the shoulder months when water clarity is at its best.

Season drives this market more than price does. The island's own climate guidance puts summer averages around 26 C and winter around 18 C, with warm-water activities running September to April and winter better suited to hiking and wildlife on land. Sea temperature in early October sits near 18.8 C with an October average near 19.1 C, which is why many spring snorkellers wear wetsuits.

Season Months Best cruise pick Why Watch out for
Spring Sep to Nov Wildlife adventure cruise Whale season peaks, wildflowers, thinner crowds Water still cool, wetsuit for snorkelling
Summer Dec to Feb Catamaran snorkel and sail Warmest water, calm mornings Busiest ferries, book well ahead
Autumn Mar to May Guided snorkel boat Settled seas, good clarity, smaller crowds Whale season has ended
Winter Jun to Aug None of the luxe cruise Seafood cruise does not run; land products suit better Cold water, rain mostly falls in winter

The whale window deserves its own planning logic. Humpbacks, southern rights and calves pass through between August and December, and sightings are possible from ferries and island lookouts as well as cruise boats, so a whale-motivated visitor should pick a date in that band and treat any sighting as a bonus layered over a cruise worth taking anyway. Visitors with more interest in land-based options can compare the island bus and train tours, which run year-round and include the Oliver Hill train and tunnel tour from A$40.

How Do The Cruise Prices Compare Once Everything Is Added Up?

The wildlife adventure cruise is the only product with no add-ons at all: its A$164 ticket already carries the ferry and the island admission. Every island-departing cruise stacks its price on top of a separate crossing, with same-day return ferries starting from A$90 from Fremantle or A$134.50 from Perth's Barrack Street Jetty, both including admission.

The bundled product quietly wins the value comparison for day visitors. Because the wildlife adventure cruise carries your ferry and admission inside its A$164, its effective premium over a plain crossing is small, while every island-departing cruise adds the full transfer cost on top of its own ticket. Anyone starting from Perth rather than Fremantle should add the difference: SeaLink's same-day return from Barrack Street Jetty starts at A$134.50 including admission.

Cruise Ticket price Ferry add-on needed Admission included Free cancellation
Ferry and wildlife adventure cruise A$164 None needed Yes Not stated
Snorkel and sail catamaran A$185 From A$90 Not stated Not stated
Guided snorkel boat trip A$239 From A$90 Yes Yes
Luxe seafood cruise A$395 From A$90 Not stated Yes

Ratings compare more honestly in the same view. The wildlife cruise's 4.5 from 244 reviews is the largest cruise-boat pool on the roster; the seafood cruise's 4.9 from 56 reviews is the highest score; the catamaran's 4.8 from 33 and the snorkel boat's 4.5 from 51 sit between them. None of these pools is large enough to justify a superlative, so treat scores as a tiebreaker between products that otherwise fit your date and budget.

For visitors deciding between a cruise and a cheaper day altogether, a fuller budget breakdown lives in the guide to what a Rottnest day trip really costs, and the complete list of on-water and underwater options, including shore-based snorkelling, sits in the snorkelling tours and spots guide.

A small boat cruising past limestone cliffs and turquoise water on a Rottnest afternoon

What Should You Know Before Booking Any Rottnest Cruise?

Check four things before paying: whether your ticket includes the ferry and the A$21.50 adult admission fee, whether the operator offers free cancellation, what the listing says about seasonal closures, and the sea state on your date, because every cruise on this roster is weather-dependent and timetables vary by season and conditions according to the official ferry page.

Cancellation terms separate this roster cleanly. The snorkel boat and the seafood cruise offer free cancellation on their listings; the wildlife adventure cruise, the catamaran and the ferry-and-bike-only products do not state it, so confirm on the live listing before treating a date as flexible. Booking ahead matters most in peak summer and school holidays, when the ferry operators themselves recommend advance purchase.

On-island logistics are simple but strict. All ferries arrive at the Main Jetty in Thomson Bay, and every cruise on this page departs from Thomson Bay or the Fuel Jetty a short walk away, so a same-day cruise-plus-ferry itinerary is realistic if your sailing times align; timetables shift by season and weather, so never build a plan around a fixed clock time printed anywhere but the operator's own page. If wildlife on land is also on the list, quokkas are wild and protected: observe from a safe distance, do not touch and do not feed, with on-the-spot fines and prosecution carrying penalties up to A$10,000 for deliberate interference.

Finally, a note on what a cruise cannot do. Boats cannot enter the sanctuary zones' fishing rules on your behalf, they cannot guarantee whales, seals, dolphins or quokkas, and they cannot control the wind. What they can do is put you on open water along a coastline most visitors only see from a ferry window, which is exactly what the best of these products sell.

Common Questions About Rottnest Island Cruises

What is the best Rottnest Island cruise?

For most day visitors the ferry-and-wildlife adventure cruise is the strongest pick, because it is the only product that includes your ferry and island admission in one ticket, from A$164 per person. For snorkelling, the catamaran or the guided snorkel boat fit better; for a premium long lunch, the luxe seafood cruise.

How much does a Rottnest Island cruise cost?

Cruise tickets run from A$164 per person for the ferry-included wildlife adventure cruise, A$185 for the catamaran, A$239 for the guided snorkel boat and A$395 for the luxe seafood cruise. Add a ferry from A$90 return for any island-departing product, since those tickets do not include the crossing.

When is whale season on Rottnest Island?

The official Rottnest Island page puts whale season at August to December, with sightings sometimes possible from June and July. Around 35,000 whales migrate through Western Australian waters. No operator guarantees a sighting from any cruise or ferry.

Do Rottnest cruises include the ferry?

Only the ferry-and-wildlife adventure cruise includes the mainland ferry crossing. The catamaran, the guided snorkel boat and the luxe seafood cruise all depart from Thomson Bay on the island, so you book your own ferry separately.

Can you snorkel from a Rottnest cruise boat?

Yes. The snorkel and sail catamaran and the guided snorkel boat trip both include in-water snorkelling stops at sheltered bays and reefs. The wildlife adventure cruise is primarily a boat ride, and the seafood cruise is a dining experience on the water.

Do Rottnest cruises run in winter?

The luxe seafood cruise does not; its listing states it is not operated in winter. The other cruises are sold as weather-dependent products, and winter is better suited to the island's land-based options such as the bus and train tours and the free volunteer-guided walks.